Advanced Photon Source | Center for Nanoscale Materials

Office of Science User Facilities

Agenda for the Week

Tuesday, May 9
Wednesday, May 10
Thursday, May 11



Exhibitors  More


Awards  More


Elections  More

Two APS awards will be presented in conjunction with the 2017 APS/CNM Users Meeting, which will be held in May at Argonne National Laboratory.

Calls for nominations are now open for the APS Compton Award and the Excellence in Beamline Science Award.

The Arthur H. Compton award was established in 1995 by the APS Users Organization (APSUO) to recognize an important scientific or technical accomplishment at the Advanced Photon Source. The award consists of a plaque, a talk given at the Users Meeting, and $2500. Nomination materials can be submitted on line at List of nomination packet materials is available at the web site. Packets are due March 24, 2017.

The “Award for Excellence in Beamline Science” recognizes beamline scientists who have made significant scientific contributions in their area of research or instrumentation development and have promoted the user community in this area. The winner is recognized at the Users Meeting, receives a $1000 award, and has their name included on the award plaque in the APS Atrium. Nomination materials must be submitted on line at and are due no later than March 24, 2017.